First Self-Evaluation Form part 2

AnalysisAre you able to sort, select and edit your research in order to develop a body of viewpoints? What have you achieved so far in this process – can you improve further?

 

The ability of arranging my research resource is not good I think. One of my weakness is not sure how to find several viewpoints during the research. In other words, I know what my idea is,  but I am not sure is it good enough and how to communicate in a appropriate method. For example, in the RPP,  if I give up the narrative of story just to present how interesting of digital techniques is. This RPP would lose the meaning or not? Another question is how can I learn those kind of complex techniques?

 

During this process, I found I can collaborate video and installation skills so that it would be more interesting. Or maybe I can add real human inside. Or maybe I will change my subject into other kind of painting or issues. Several ideas have to improve after I do more research. 

Subject knowledge Try and evaluate your knowledge of Graphic Design and Communication in a contemporary and historical context? How have you applied this knowledge and understanding in your own practice of the subject?

 

In my opinions, the emphasis of Graphic Design is communication. We are not only designers, but also communicators. How to convey my ideas to audience clearly and how to make people understand correctly and immediately are the key points. Then we should consider which method we can use in this process to make more interesting and attractive. Nowadays, Graphic Design is not only  flat or in 2D area.  It can be anything. I can make animation, installation, sculpture, illustration interaction and video. It can be 3D or 4D format. New technology bring more and more influences to graphic area. I am not satisfied in 2D, what I want to experience is the digital area.

 

The topic of my first project is talk about the changes of diary, the relationship between private and public in diary by developing of Internet. In ancient time, diary is a very private thing, and people who is not the author would hard to read it. But now, on-line diary become a tend and very popular. Almost everyone has a bolg or facebook to record everyday life. I asked more than 20 on-line diary authors that could I borrow some of their diary as materials used in my project. Most of them were agree with some requires, and few people were disagree. The most interesting thing is one of them wrote a diary to criticize and complain me. In my final work I did a poster to show those different vioces but I think it is not success. I would improve later.

 

One of illustration in my project:

 

Leave a comment